The Simien massif - presentation

Also known as "roof of Africa"(the Roof of Africa) because of its high altitude, the Simien massif is the highest plateau in northern Ethiopia. Its highest point is the Ras Dashen to 4550 m. The highlands range in altitude from 3000 to 4500m and, although living conditions are difficult, they are populated with countless villages and hamlets, and cultivated up to around 3600m. Snow falls regularly during the rainy season, between May and September.

Map of Simien National Park

It was inscribed in 1978 as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO because it is the refuge of extremely rare animals such as the Baboon Gelada (pictured below), the Simien foxon Abyssinian wolf or the Walia Ibexa kind of ibex that is only found in this area.

credit Hervé Doulat - Allibert Trekking
credit Hervé Doulat - Allibert Trekking

The landscapes are very spectacular because of the erosion, offering vertiginous peaks of more than 1500 m of difference in level and incredible points of view.

 

credit Hervé Doulat - Allibert Trekking
credit Hervé Doulat - Allibert Trekking

The highlight of the Simien massif, and Ethiopia, is the Ras Dashen at about 4550m of altitude.

Population of Simien. The mountains of Simien are far from being deserted since 250 000 people live there! We crossed hamlets up to 3700 m high! There are few big villages in Simien. Indeed, the totality of the population lives from a subsistence agriculture intended to provide for the needs of the family. Surpluses, which are not very important when they exist, are sold in the local markets. Food agriculture requires very scattered dwellings, from 2 to 5 huts, around which the fields are cultivated or the animals are grazed, thus forming a mosaic of small systems living essentially in autarky. This is how the smallest plateau, the smallest terrace or the smallest promontory is inhabited and cultivated.

ethiopia-hd-6557

The children of Simien. With an average of 7 children per family, Ethiopia is a very young country like any country in full demographic boom. In the city as in the countryside, children are omnipresent. In Simien, they are the sentinels of the field. Indeed, they are the ones in charge of guarding the herds! They also carry out many missions such as fetching water from the source. This difficult task is often done by young girls... In short, children are everywhere and the mountain resounds with their cries all the time, giving a nice atmosphere to the hikes. We also often see them selling local handicrafts, cold drinks or coffee.

credit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat
credit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat

Music from Simien. Ethiopian traditional music is rich and varied. In the highlands, the musical culture is carried by the AzmarisHe is an itinerant musician reminiscent of our ancient minstrels. He plays a very rudimentary instrument, a kind of lute with 1 string and 1 bow, called Masenqo (pronounced "Massineko").

credit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat

Visit the Simien - tourism. The best way to discover the Simien National Park is, as usual, hiking and trekking. The offer of local agencies, the National Park and European tour operators is abundant, varied and of high quality. A trekking in Simien does not require very important physical and technical qualities. The key to success lies rather in the acclimatization to high altitude since the classic trekking circuits navigate between 3000 and 4500m of altitude. That is why most of the proposed tours include, for the first 3 or 4 days of your stay in Ethiopia, visits to Addis Ababa, Lake Tana (source of the Blue Nile), Gondar or Lalibella. Indeed, as soon as you arrive in Addis Ababa, you are at 2500m of altitude, acclimatization can start. Some tours are also offered in 4×4 vehicles, a track crossing the entire park. Other groups ride mountain bikes, as the plateau terrain and the earthy soil are ideal for mountain biking. mountain bike.

credit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat

 


Online resources :

MAKE A DONATION

Le massif du Simien – présentation

Egalement appelé « roof of Africa » (le Toit de l’Afrique) du fait de sa haute altitude, le massif du Simien constitue les plus hauts plateaux du nord de l’Ethiopie. Son point culminant est le Ras Dashen à 4550 m. Les hauts plateaux s’échelonnent entre 3000 et 4500m d’altitude et, bien que les conditions de vie y soient difficiles, ils sont peuplés d’innombrables villages et hameaux, et cultivés jusqu’aux environs de 3600m. La neige y tombe régulièrement durant la saison des pluies, entre mai et septembre.

Carte du Parc National du Simien

Il a été inscrit en 1978 au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO car il est le refuge d’animaux extrêmement rares tels que le Babouin Gelada (photo ci-dessous), le renard du Simien, le loup d’Abyssinie ou le Walia Ibex, sorte de bouquetin présent uniquement sur ce territoire.

crédit Hervé Doulat - Allibert Trekking
crédit Hervé Doulat – Allibert Trekking

Les paysages y sont très spectaculaires du fait de l’érosion, offrant des à-pics vertigineux de plus de 1500 m de dénivelée et des points de vue incroyables.

 

crédit Hervé Doulat - Allibert Trekking
crédit Hervé Doulat – Allibert Trekking

Le point culminant du massif du Simien, et de l’Ethiopie, est le Ras Dashen à environ 4550m d’altitude.

Population du Simien. Les montagnes du Simien sont loin d’être désertiques puisque 250 000 personnes y vivent ! Nous avons traversé des hameaux jusqu’à des altitudes de 3700 m ! Il y a peu de gros villages dans le Simien. En effet, la totalité de la population vit d’une agriculture vivrière destinée à subvenir aux besoins de la famille. Les surplus, peu importants quand il y en a, sont vendus dans les marchés locaux. L’agriculture vivrière impose des habitations très disséminées, de 2 à 5 huttes, autours desquelles les champs sont cultivés ou les bêtes pâtures, formant ainsi une mosaïque de petits systèmes vivant essentiellement en autarcie. C’est ainsi que le moindre plateau, la moindre terrasse ou le plus petit promontoire sont habités et cultivés.

ethiopie-hd-6557

Les enfants du Simien. Avec en moyenne 7 enfants par famille, l’Ethiopie est un pays très jeune comme tout pays en plein boum démographique. En ville comme à la campagne, les enfants sont omniprésents. Dans le Simien, ce sont des sentinelles quadrillant le terrain. En effet, ce sont eux qui sont chargés de garder les troupeaux ! Ils assurent également nombre de missions telles qu’aller chercher de l’eau à la source. Cette tâche pénible est souvent assurée par les jeunes filles… Bref, les enfants sont partout et la montagne résonne de leurs cris en permanence, donnant une belle ambiance aux randonnées. On les croise également souvent vendant des objets d’artisanats locaux, des boissons fraiches ou du café.

crédit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat
crédit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat

Musique du Simien. La musique traditionnelle éthiopienne est riche et variée. Sur les hauts plateaux, la culture musicale est portée par les Azmaris, musicien itinérant qui rappellent nos anciens ménestrels. Il joue d’un instrument très rudimentaire, sorte de luth à 1 corde et 1 archet, appelé Masenqo (prononcer « Massineko »).

crédit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat

Visiter le Simien – tourisme. Le meilleur moyen de découvrir le Parc National du Simien est comme souvent la randonnée pédestre et le trekking. L’offre des agences locales, du Parc National et des Tour operator européen est abondante, variée et de qualité. Un trekking dans le Simien n’exige pas des qualités physiques et techniques très importantes. La clé du succès réside plutôt dans l’acclimatation à la haute altitude puisque les circuits classiques de trekking naviguent entre 3000 et 4500m d’altitude. C’est pour cela que la plupart des circuits proposés prévoient, pour les 3 ou 4 premiers jours de votre séjour éthiopiens, des visites à Addis-Abeba, au lac Tana (source du Nil bleu), à Gondar ou Lalibella. En effet, dés l’arrivée à Addis-Abeba, on est à 2500m d’altitude, l’acclimatation peut démarrer. Certains circuits sont également proposés en véhicules tout-terrain 4×4, une piste traversant intégralement le Parc. D’autres groupes le sillonnent en VTT, le terrain en plateau et le sol terreux se prêtant idéalement à la pratique du mountain bike.

crédit Allibert-Trekking / Hervé Doulat

 


Ressources en ligne :