The school is coming out of the ground: what a thrill!

Sona, Simien Ethiopia school construction

Here we are back from our 6th trip to Sona in order, for the first time, to see the progress of the work. Almost 3 years to the day after our first contact with the community of the high plateau of Sona, the school promised then becomes reality! "Finally!" we want to say so many obstacles to overcome: administrative, financial, governance of the project, technical, etc.. But so many things have been achieved in 3 short years and already a project is underway! We can, all together, be proud of the path we have taken.

start of school construction. Simien National Park Ethiopia

Work is progressing!

The foundations of the first block of 4 classes were dug. The materials (cement, scrap metal, sheet metal, doors and windows, etc.) were transported by mule or man. A temporary storage building (on the left in the photo) was erected. The piles of stones are intended for the foundations and slabs of the future building.

We will of course come back in detail on the progress of the project, in text, photos and videos! But we absolutely wanted to share with you our enthusiasm and optimism after this intense and positive trip! So here are some pictures to show you what it's all about.

School construction in Simien National parc has started

Transporting the equipment at the end of the rainy season in difficult conditions, and carrying it on the back of men and mules to Sona. The rainy season has decided to play for longer but nothing can dent the determination of the local population to have their school!


Transporting materials on human backs. Simien National Park Ethiopia

Thank you to the residents, their representatives, the construction company, the Foundation's employees and of course to all the donors for this magnificent result!

The funds raised to date have enabled us to implement the first phase of the project, i.e. 2 buildings with 4 classrooms for 400 students. We Let's continue the fundraising for the continuation of the project, thank you for your generosity.

We will prepare a much more complete report of our visit and the progress of the construction site. Until then, we remind you of our presence on the

Festival Carnets de Voyages of Marly

November 16-19, 2018

L’école sort de terre : quelle émotion !

Voilà, nous sommes de retour de notre 6ème voyage à Sona dans le but, pour la première fois, de voir l’avancement des travaux. Presque 3 ans, jour pour jour, après notre premier contact avec la communauté du haut plateau de Sona, l’école promise alors devient réalité ! « Enfin ! » a t-on envie de dire tant les obstacles à surmonter ont été nombreux : administratifs, financiers, gouvernance du projet, techniques, etc. Mais tant de choses réalisées en 3 petites années et déjà une réalisation engagée ! Nous pouvons, tous ensemble, être fiers du chemin parcouru.

Les travaux avancent !

Les fondations du premier bloc de 4 classes ont été creusées. Les matériaux (ciment, ferraille, tôle, portes et fenêtres, etc.) ont été acheminés à dos de mules ou d’hommes. Un bâtiment de stockage provisoire (à gauche sur la photo) a été érigé. Les tas de pierres sont destinés aux fondations et dalles du futur bâtiment.

Nous reviendrons bien sûr en détail sur l’avancement du projet, en texte, photos et vidéos ! Mais nous tenions absolument à vous faire partager notre enthousiasme et notre optimisme après ce voyage aussi intense que positif ! Voici donc quelques photos pour vous montrer ce qu’il en est.

Transport du matériel à la fin de la saison des pluies dans des conditions difficiles, et acheminement à dos d’homme et de mules jusqu’à Sona. La saison des pluies a décidé de jouer les prolongations mais rien ne peut entamer la détermination de la population locale à avoir son école !


Merci donc aux habitants, leurs représentants, l’entreprise de construction, aux salariés de la Fondation et bien sûr à tous les donateurs pour ce magnifique résultat !

Les fonds récoltés nous à ce jour nous ont permis de mettre en oeuvre la première phase du projet, soit 2 bâtiments de 4 classes pour 400 élèves. Nous continuons la collecte de fond pour la suite du chantier, merci pour votre générosité.

Nous vous préparons un compte-rendu beaucoup plus complet de notre visite et de l’avancement du chantier. D’ici là, nous vous rappelons notre présence sur le

Festival Carnets de Voyages de Marly

du 16 au 19 novembre 2018